The Culture of Ghana

Ghanas culture is the life and history of its different tribal /ethnic groups.  

The major ethnic groups are Akan 50%, Mole-Dagbon 15.5%, Ewe 12%, Ga-Dangme 7.5%, Guan 4%, Gurma 4%,Gurunsi 2.5%,
Mande-Busanga 1%, other tribes 1.5%, other (Hausa, Zabarema,Fulani) ) 2% (2000 census). Each Ethnic group is broken down into
many different sub ethnic groups all with there own different language/ dialect and culture. 

Presently, Ghana has 18,530 primary schools, 8,850 junior secondary schools, 900 senior secondary schools,
28 training colleges, 20 technical institutions, 4 diploma-awarding institutions, 6 public universities
and over 10 private universities. Most Ghanaians have relatively easy access to primary and secondary
education. These numbers can be contrasted with the single university and handful of secondary and primary
schools that existed at the time of independence in 1957. Ghana's spending on education has varied between
28 and 40 percent of its annual budget in the past decade. All teaching is done in English, Ghana's official

Languages and Dialects. Within thoses ehtnic groups there are more than 250 languages and dialects are spoken. English is the
country's official language and predominates government, business, education ancd the media. Nine languages have the status of
government-sponsored languages: 

Akan          (Ashanti, Fante, Akuapem, Akyem, Kwahu)
Dagaare/Waale     Spoken in Upper Western Region 
Dangbe      Spoken in Greater Accra         
Dagbane    Spoken in Northern Region
Ewe            Volta Region 
Ga               Greater Accra Region
Gonja         Northern Region
Kasem         Upper Eastern Region
Nzema        Western Region

Hausa alt
hough not an official language, is spoken among Ghana's Muslims, who comprise about 14% of the population.

There are many n
on Government Sponcerned Languages 
Adele               Volta Region
Anufo/Chokosi   Northern Region
Buli                    Upper East Region - Sandema
Bimoba                Northern Region -  Bunkp urugu
Birifor                Upper East Region and Northern Region Bilema & Danvar
Bassari               Northern Region
Chumburung        Northern Region and Volta Region
Frara                 Upper East Region Bolgatanga
Gikyode/Akyode Volta Region - Shiare
Hanga                 Northern Region
Konkomba            Northern Region Saboba
Kusaal                 Upper East Region - Bawku
Kasem                  Upper East Region - Navrongo
Koma                  Upper East Region - Yipabongo
Buen/Lelem         Volta Region - Jasikan & Bodada
Mampruli            Northern Region -Nalerigu
Mo/Deg               Northern Region  - New Longoro & Bole Dist.
Naraanra            Banda Ahenkro
Nkonya                Volta Region - Akloba & Wurupong
Ntrubo/Delo     Volta Region - Pusupu
Nawuri                Northern Region -  Kitare
Sisaala               Upper Western Region - Tumu
Tampulma            Northern Region
Vagla                   Northern Region
Wali                     Upper Western Region